About Us

New Haven - Fall05.jpg

The Greater New Haven Chamber of Commerce has been influential for over two centuries in shaping public policy and fostering business growth. No matter how large or small your business, membership in The Chamber gives you an advantage.

Founded in 1794, The Chamber’s original goal was to represent the concerns of 26 New Haven businessmen who united to persuade the federal government to keep the city’s maritime shipping out of the hands of French and British privateers.  Their success was the first chapter in an over 200 year tradition of representing the needs of the New Haven business community.

Today, our mission is to provide leadership in marshalling the physical, economic, and human resources of the south central Connecticut region – comprising the municipalities of Bethany, Branford, Cheshire, East Haven, Guilford, Hamden, Madison, Milford, New Haven, North Branford, North Haven, Orange, Wallingford, West Haven, and Woodbridge – for its effective development as a favorable place to operate a business, a desirable place to work, and an attractive place to live.

 The Chamber focuses on five areas of public policy

• Staying on top of changes in a rapidly shifting economy

• Securing transportation infrastructure to make it easier to get people and goods in and out of the region 

• Nurturing key industry sectors such as manufacturing, health care, and arts & tourism 

• Ensuring that downtown New Haven— the core of the region—is thriving and neighborhoods are attractive and safe

• Keeping the region competitive with other parts of the country.

We’ll Help You Grow

Whether it’s advice on securing a strategic plan for your small business, marketing opportunities for a new product, or leads for new customers, The Chamber can help your business succeed. Our team of business development specialists takes care to learn about your business so that we can better address your needs.

The Chamber offers a wide range of tools for business management including visibility for your company name, educational seminars, health insurance, disability coverage, workers’ compensation, sales leads, and information on state and local government.

In addition, The Chamber offers help to those starting or expanding their own business, through its Small Business Assistance Center.  Referrals are available for many aspects of the business process such as mentoring, credit counseling, professional services, and access to financing, business plan and marketing development.

To learn more about the Chamber, we invite you to attend our Discover the Chamber lunchtime event, held the third Friday of each month at the Chamber.  Geared to new and prospective Chamber members, this event features an in-depth look at the Chamber’s offerings and a pizza lunch.

Board of Directors

Chamber Officers 2015-2016
Larry Bingaman, Chairman
Jennifer DelMonico, Esq., Vice Chair
Len Matteo Jr., Immediate Past Chairman
Richard DeMayo, Treasurer
Kevin Dougherty, Secretary
Bruce McDermott, Esq., Secretary & General Counsel of the Foundation
Board of Directors 2015-2016:
Richard Almada, HealthyCT
Jodi Amatulli, Hamden Hall
Steven Angeletti, TD Bank
Scott Bassett, McGladrey
Kelly Wade Bettuchi, AT&T
Thomas Beirne III, Halsey Associates, Inc.
Kevin Corrado, New Haven Register
Elena Cahill, Globelé Energy
David Cantor, First Niagara Bank
Leo Connors, Jr., Merrill Lynch
Kevin Corrado, New Haven Register
Robert Cox, Halloran & Sage LLP
Paul D’ Andrea, Watch Hill Partnership
Louis D’Antonio, Gateway Community College
Bob Dickson, Dale Carnegie Training Franchise
Ellen Durnin, School of Business, SCSU
Robert Hammersley, Diversified Technology Consultants
A. Raymond Jarvis, Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield
Elliot Kaiman, Wiggin and Dana
Andrea Kovacs, Albertus Magnus College
Peter Kozodoy, GEM Advertising
Kevin LaChapelle, Weinstein & Anastasio
Heather LaTorra, Marrakech, Inc.
Andrew Lubin, Neubert, Pepe & Monteith, P.C.
Carmen Macca, Simione Macca & Larrow, LLP
John Maziarz, Southern Conn Gas Company
Vince McDermott, Milone & MacBroom
Lawrence Moon, Jr., C. Cowles & Company
Gary Mullin, FTG Financial, LLC
Sachin Parikh, SNP Technologies, Inc.
Vincent Petrini, Yale-New Haven Hospital
Paul Portnoy, The Milford Bank
Matthew O’Connor, Quinnipiac University
Chris-Philip Onofrio, Langan Engineering & Environmental Services
Helene Robbins, Wells Fargo
Dawn Robinson, Barnum Financial Group
Sal Romano, Farmington Bank
Lynne Rosansky, University of New Haven
Tony Rossley, Bankwell
Chris Rouser, Comcast
Michael Schaffer, C.A. White, Inc.
Allison Schieffelin Walker, The Lighting Quotient
Thomas Scuito, ConnectiCare
Lucy Sirico, Saint Raphael Foundation, Inc.
Steven Solecki, Bank of America
Kevin Spagone, Reitman Personnel Services
David Stevenson, Central Connecticut Coast YMCA
Richard Taft, Business Transfer Alliance, Inc.
Stephen Villecco, United Bank
Thomas Walsh, BlumShapiro
Lauren Zucker, Yale University
Executive Committee 2015-2016
Larry Bingaman, South Central Connecticut Regional Water Authority
Richard DeMayo, Citizens Bank
Kevin Dougherty, Peoples United Bank
Ellen D. Durnin, School of Business, SCSU
Andrew Lubin, Neubert, Pepe, & Monteith, P.C.
Hugh Manke, Updike, Kelly & Spellacy, P.C.
Len Matteo, Jr. Edge Technology Services
Bruce McDermott, UIL Holdings Corp.
Lawrence Moon, Jr., C. Cowles & Co.
Vincent Petrini, Yale-New Haven Hospital
Dennis Regan, BlumShapiro
Michael Schaffer, C.A. White, Inc.
Steven Solecki, Bank of America
Richard Taft, Business Transfer Alliance, Inc.
Ex-Officio Directors
Mary Lou Aleskie, International Festival of Arts & Ideas
Cynthia Clair, Arts Council of Greater New Haven
Jerry Clupper, New Haven Manufacturers Association
Win Davis, Town Green Special Services District
William Ginsberg, Community Foundation for Greater New Haven
The Honorable Toni N. Harp, Mayor, City of New Haven
Jack Healy, United Way of Greater New Haven
Ric Jennings, Greater New Haven Business and Professional Association
Roger Joyce, Regional Leadership Council
Ginny Kozlowski, REX Development
and Economic Development Corp. of New Haven
William Villano, Workforce Alliance
Anne Worcester, Market New Haven, Inc.